In which I take a call or two or three …

While getting my head together for my first interview outing I took a call from the local Business Link.

It took me a confused moment or two to remember that I had requested a call back from them as part of my campaign to sort out RPS Globocorps Inc. The call was really interesting and the adviser was full of useful information. I now have a pack of stuff to work through which is waiting for my attention after the interview.

Being nosey I couldn’t help but ask about the changes to the service the government had announced and what it would mean for my caller and the service he offered. I learned a couple of interesting things.

Firstly, no one is quite sure what is happening except services from them will be more narrowly focused. He told me, for example, that the one to one support from the service is now restricted to businesses with which they have been working for a little while. New start-ups – like me – have to be content with other bits of the offer.

All of which took me to the second and more important point. A query really about whether it makes sense to reduce support to small businesses just when the country is looking for a wave of entrepreneurialism to help create jobs for the soon-to-be-unemployed. (That’s me.)

My second call came from an old colleague who is in a similar boat to me. We’ve been thinking about how we could pool our talents if neither of us is successful in the jobs market. Well, my colleague also has an interview. Thankfully for a different job or I would obviously have had to dope his drink.

It’s been a long while since I had heard anything that cheered me up so much. Naturally, I’m going to be an advocate for the wonderful people with whom I’ve worked but I think there are some great ‘bargains’ for employers out there in the labour market just now.

My final call was from an organisation interested in having a deeper chat with me after checking out my profile on LinkedIn. They think I may have some transferable skills useful to their business.

It’s probably folly on my part but I wonder if things are going to loosen up in the labour market – just a bit. Fingers crossed.

Just so you know that some things remain unchanged in my job hunting I got a priceless email alert yesterday that caused me to radically revisit my recently revised parameters on the database.

For no apparent reason I was sent a set of opportunities at La Senza. They need a swimwear designer. A lingerie buyer. And a manager for the Basingstoke branch.

I obviously like to think I am game for anything but I think even I will have to admit defeat on this front. I yield the ground to those whose experience of ladies’ necessaries goes beyond having watched Father Ted win his Golden Cleric.

Gives me an excuse to post this though – it always cheers me up.

About redundantpublicservant

A redundant UK public servant looking for work, sharing his experiences and providing a space for others to do the same.
This entry was posted in business start ups, interviews, Job applications, job hunting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In which I take a call or two or three …

  1. A says:

    Basingstoke is much closer to your former abode than your current abode. Are you sure you haven’t been head-hunted on the basis of your past displays of lingerie expertise?

Leave a Reply

