In which I offer my #1 Christmas Wish …

My previous four Christmas Wishes are (in reverse order) –

… public servants get the recognition they deserve for helping to keep society glued together …

… truthfulness becomes a defining characteristic of our national life …

… emotional intelligence becomes a valued trait in the workplace …

… to be wrong about the prospects for the economy …

So finally it’s time for my top Christmas Wish for 2010.

When I thought about this series of blog posts I agonised long and hard about what the top Wish would be.

World Peace? Seemed a bit obvious. An end to famine? Of course. The death of slavery? Who wouldn’t vote for that?

Then I paused to reflect on our family experience this year. What have we learned about where change is needed that suggests a Christmas Wish is needed?

How about a bit more mutual respect between workers from whatever sector of the economy? No more private sector ‘good’, public sector ‘bad’. That would be nice.

Or perhaps decision makers might draw a fairly obvious conclusion from the snow problems that ‘back offices’, the people who make the logistics of public service delivery work, may actually be vital. Rather than optional unproductive overheads.

However the more I thought about it the clearer the answer became. Blogging about our family experiences of being on the front line of deficit reduction has brought us in to contact with so many wonderful people. Swapping hints and tips. Sharing triumphs and disasters. This has all become an important part of how we are managing as a family to get through this unwelcome change in our circumstances. So the proper #1 Christmas Wish is obvious –

that all our readers and their loved ones have a joyous Christmas and a happy New Year …

About redundantpublicservant

A redundant UK public servant looking for work, sharing his experiences and providing a space for others to do the same.
This entry was posted in A Christmas wish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In which I offer my #1 Christmas Wish …

  1. Nicely done sir! There I was thinking it was leading to a wish about a new job, but you rose far above me in that. Merry Christmas and a much better 2011 to you and yours.

  2. Mean Mr Mustard says:

    Bah! Humbug! 🙂

  3. Will Cleare says:

    …and a Merry Christmas and prosperous New Year to you and your family.

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention In which I offer my #1 Christmas Wish … | A redundant public servant's blog -- Topsy.com

  5. @DavidWhe says:

    May I add those wishes to all those who work in both the public realm and the private world. Maybe, just maybe I would wish to exclude the ‘Pickles’ but….

Leave a Reply

