In which Mrs RPS guest blogs …

*** UPDATE ***

Mrs RPS and I have just read through all your comments and she decided to do an update rather than respond to each. Hope that this is ok.

Writing the post has been a big step for me but finding out through cyberspace that there are so many people all in the same boat makes me feel less isolated. The world around me seems to be complacently pottering along, an approach which considering I too work in the public sector, seems naive to say the least. However, people seem only to get angry about these issues when they are touched by them directly, as I am.

While I am used to such complacency airing my inner thoughts has proved to be greatly beneficial to me because of all your supportive comments and hearing that many of you face exactly the same experience.

Heaven knows so many of us are being forced to trudge this distressing path, we can at least travel it together.

Chin up everyone,

Mrs RPS

Here’s this morning’s post again in full.

____________________________________________________

I am very proud to introduce a post from Mrs RPS. I asked her for her take on what is happening to us. It has given me plenty of food for thought. I am sure it will do the same for you.

When Mr RPS first asked me to commit my feelings on the forthcoming redundancy to his blog, I initially resisted. It seemed subconsciously to be giving credence to an aggressive act against our family which I am still loathe to accept to some degree. For considering it is my husband, not me, who has worked for an August Body in public service I have taken this surprisingly personally.

You may conclude, Dear Reader, that I am taking the ostrich approach to what will soon happen to us (Please note the ‘us’, not ‘him’), and that I should face this issue head on with shoulders braced. My response would be, see how you feel when it happens to you. You have to experience it first hand to understand the depth of its trauma.

Mr RPS and I have been happily married for 23 years and for 22 of those years he has been an employee of the August Body. I have been a proud witness of his sure and steady rise through its rock steady structure, kept our tiny children quiet when he was studying for professional qualifications, encouraged him to go for promotion and held the fort countless times at home when he was called away for days at a time for conferences or training.

Even more, I have willingly agreed to move our family lock, stock and barrel not once but twice to another part of the country in order that he could take up some new role within the AB. That means that twice I have waved ‘Goodbye’ to dear friends and a whole support structure and had to start again, in a new area, finding a new home, good schools, a new job for me and hopefully new friends, all to the benefit of the AB.

Indeed, on occasions I have come to consider the AB as the notorious third person in our marriage, drawing my beloved husband away from his family to further its enterprise, sometimes at our expense. The missed children’s birthdays, the Parents’ Evenings attended late or by myself due to work commitments. And yet, the blows have always been softened by my innate belief in the importance of his work and the causes it championed.

You may have detected a hint of bitterness creeping in. Bitterness now exudes from my pores at times. For I feel that this upcoming redundancy is our redundancy, not just my husband’s. We are all being cast adrift, not just him. Our children are much older now, one at university, our second on the way there, hopefully and our third embarking on GCSEs. The AB has been part and parcel of our family life for their entire existence, at times irritating and invasive, but also representing security and purpose. Now that is all to be wiped away.

Wiped out at the whim of a government and ministers, whose motivation I deeply suspect. For a doctrine I believe is essentially flawed. According to our esteemed Prime Minister, all public sector redundancies will be soaked up by opportunities in the private sector. The overall figure keeps being altered, but we’re still talking hundreds of thousands, so I’m cynical to say the least. Whatever the number, it still leaves our family in an unenviable position with a very uncertain future.

So perhaps in the circumstances you’ll allow me a little bitterness. 

About redundantpublicservant

A redundant UK public servant looking for work, sharing his experiences and providing a space for others to do the same.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In which Mrs RPS guest blogs …

  1. cb says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Mrs RPS. This process is cruel so bitterness is very well placed.

  2. A says:

    If our “esteemed Prime Minister” read that, he might finally understand what “all in this together” means.

    Have to admit to spluttering into my coffee when I got to “one at university, our second on the way” – you kept that quiet Mr RPS.

  3. What price loyalty, dedication and commitment eh? We are NOT all in this together despite how often the millionaires use the sound bite!

  4. Christo says:

    Bitterness is a normal response and anger and sadness. You are both in a grieving process. What is so appalling is that this redundancy is a result of ideology not economics.
    My husband and I went through a similar experience after the late 1980s Big Bang/ Black Wednesday. We are still here, still ourselves and you will be too. I wish you and your family strength, endurance, humour – go forth and flourish .

  5. A literary allusion….. trying to keep the standard up……

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boxer_(Animal_Farm)

  6. Pingback: The emotional impact of redundancy | Sole Trader PR

  7. localgov says:

    I just want to say thanks to Mrs RPS for beautifully putting that down on proverbial paper and sharing how it feels from your side of things. As with others, I’m constantly thinking about my own future job status and how tenuous my hold on employment is, and sometimes I forget that my own other half must be going through her own torments and trials.

    Admittedly she hides it really, really well. Behind shopping bags more often than not.

    I will be asking her to read this though, to let her know that she is not alone in feeling as she does.

  8. Offtheconveyor says:

    A very warm welcome to the blog Mrs RPS. I think your reaction is entirely understandable. I’m in exactly the same position as Mr RPS, and I’m now trying to make sure I can manage should I only be able to get a job at half or less than my current salary. If your fantastically eloquent husband is struggling to get shortlisted there’s not much hope for us mere mortals, My daughter, same age as the oldest RPS offspring, is not just bitter, but really angry. At least on the upside she is now far more of a political creature than she was before – and you can bet she won’t vote Lib Dem any more, as I suspect many of her age won’t.

    But there is a chance to develop a life that is less self sacrificing – and I don’t mean that in a negative way. When you’ve given all and compromised on things you really shouldn’t – and you still get the boot – well, perhaps a bit of downsizing isn’t a bad thing for the increased peace of mind you get. Hence my new “handle” – I hope I can get it to work in practice and not go chasing the bigger and better job.

    Good luck and I hope you find a way as a family not to have to uproot again. I hope you also feel it worthwhile to do further, occasional guest blogs – it really will help some other spouses out there.

  9. Roger White says:

    Bitterness? – oh, yes! It happens. You obviously have to find your own way through it but what worked for me was not to try and delete it but to acknowledge it and give up a small part of my mind as a strong safe deposit box. Pile the bile in there (go on – shove it in hard, there’s enough of it and you know the b******s who caused it) then put a padlock firmly on it. Every now and then when it’s helpful (but not too often) open it up and get really really cross – there’ll be enough triggers to make you reach for the key. But as time goes on make sure you need the key less and less often until you can throw it away. The contents remain securely in there locked away and therefore acknowledged but don’t need to be dragged out any more.

  10. portraitofa30something says:

    I wish you all the best. Mrs RPS, no price can be put on support like yours.

Leave a Reply

