In which I offer some feedback from the kids …

I got my own feedback this evening which I am mulling over. But in the spirit of sharing, I thought I would relay what I heard from my student son earlier.

This is not a political blog so I hope politicians will take this in the spirit in which it is intended. My son’s problem is not that graduates will have to pay for getting a university education. It’s not the specifics of the proposals themselves.

It’s a simpler point. His vote was actively sought on the basis that the party seeking it would act on a pledge that its office seekers freely gave. He thinks that having given this pledge before the election it is not an unreasonable expectation on his part that, in office, this party would deliver the pledge.

He doesn’t want ‘the new politics’. What he wants is something rather old-fashioned. That office seekers be held accountable for the pledges and promises they make. That their word should mean something.

And, he and his friends would quite like to be able to exercise without intimidation their right to free assembly and protest. Afterall, isn’t that what the Bog Society is about?

About redundantpublicservant

A redundant UK public servant looking for work, sharing his experiences and providing a space for others to do the same.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In which I offer some feedback from the kids …

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention In which I offer some feedback from the kids … | A redundant public servant's blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Mean Mr Mustard says:

    “Afterall, isn’t that what the Bog Society is about?”

    Ireland? For Peat’s sake… 🙂

Leave a Reply

