In which I get past the wobble …

If you visited the blog over the weekend you’ll know I had a bit of a wobble on Saturday after getting another ‘thanks, but no thanks’ letter to add to the collection.

I’ve been doing some self-review of the effectiveness of Operation Find An Alternative Income Source. (Sorry too many years of hanging around the edges of the criminal justice system means I tend to ‘operationalise’ everything.) After my last review I have been focusing on fewer roles more tightly matched to my skills set. Trouble is there are lots of folks with a similar CV all entering the market at exactly the same time.

Visitors to this site and to my posts on Patrick Butler’s Cuts Blog have made the points that: you need to go where the jobs are; and, only a small percentage of jobs get advertised.

So I have been pondering how to revise my strategy because only an idiot keeps doing the same old thing in the hope that something different might happen. Over the weekend I have been rooting through the business pages of various websites and newspapers to see where the action is – so to speak – and work out if there’s a route to get me involved.

The Times had an interesting analysis of the labour market on Thursday 18 November – safely tucked up behind its pay wall – on page 56. The biggest areas of jobs growth in this 4th quarter of 2010 were identified as: IT; manufacturing; consultancy; finance; and, mysteriously, private sector services.

The piece also talked up retail quoting the British Retail Consortium as saying retail is the ‘engine room’ of the British economy. Obviously I know diddly-squat about retail but I can’t help wondering whether retail isn’t a bit dependent upon the rest of the economy. More like the trailer towed along by the engine rooms of financial services and manufacturing. The bigger and more successful those sectors the larger the retail trailer will be.

Anyway clutching my analysis to my chest I did a review of jobs pages and internet job sites for the sectors that were reporting planned growth. My search generated a list of jobs or companies looking to expand that I’m going to target.

What also became obvious was that anyone feeling mischievous could quickly generate a list of private ‘non jobs’ to rival that of any public sector list. Indeed some of the language used eerily echoes that of the public sector. Here’s just one example:

The successful candidate will work closely with key stakeholders to develop and effect change and transition plans. You will embed the concept and lead a programme of continuous improvement …

This could have been lifted from almost any senior public sector management post advertised in the last 10 years. But, of course, private sector jobs are different to public ones. They are not paid for by the public.

Wrong. @vincelammas pointed out in a comment on the Cuts Blog over the weekend that private sector jobs are paid for by customers in the prices they pay for goods and services and by shareholders in profits foregone.

So once again the private=good, public=bad debate is shown up for being as thread-bare as the Irish Government’s popularity this morning.

Anyway with my wobble behind me I am gearing up a whole new set of propositions for potential employers I hope they’ll find hard to resist.

Here goes …

About redundantpublicservant

A redundant UK public servant looking for work, sharing his experiences and providing a space for others to do the same.
This entry was posted in CVs, Job applications, job hunting, rejection letters, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In which I get past the wobble …

  1. Andy says:

    Some other non-jobs (in my view):
    – ASDA’s bouncer / customer greeter
    – Quality controller (how many times do I buy something only to have to take it back?)
    – Waterstones’ Xmas helpers (sidle up to you whilst you’re minding your own business and say loudly “I see you’re looking at travel books… one of my favourite sections” – nothing gets me out of the shop quicker.
    All paid for by joe public because they are included in the price of the pork chop, laptop or book. But can I complain to an ombudsmen or regulator? Or the Daily Mail?

  2. Ben says:

    Keep going with this your words are inspiring me to look on the bright side of things!

Leave a Reply

