In which I get inspired …

Few modern political figures inspire me to do much more than look for a shoe to throw at the television. That’s not a constructive use of energy. However, this weekend has found me – alongside wrestling with my latest batch of applications and other future plotting – being inspired by Chris Bryant MP.

Mr Bryant is a shadow justice minister and MP for Rhondda. He has written a poem about the cuts published here . It has excited universal derision among commetators, particularly his opponents.

Anyway it got me thinking about poetry and generated some slight alarm that the political classes are planning to colonise this part of our cultural life too. I have to confess that I am a secret versifyer. There, I’ve denounced myself.

So here’s something I’ve been niggling at for a little while. See what you think. I don’t see why politicians should have poetry too.

Desk clearing, time to depart

i

Time to depart and leave this place. All show,

Setting of my career triumphs, now gone.

Years spent in chasing dreams, unwanted now,

Seem unreal, film of someone else’s song.

ii

Clearing my desk I sweep papers as leaves,

Marking the seasons of a life spent, not

Well, it seems, but as a dark canker breeds

On a tree now dying, its life force shot.

iii

How many of us become the people

We thought we’d be when youth put all in our

Grasp? The saplings bathed in Spring’s warm glow feel

Now the nagging chill, Autumn’s tolling hour.

iv

Between the thought and the action is us,

The ordinary folk. Surviving. Just.

About redundantpublicservant

A redundant UK public servant looking for work, sharing his experiences and providing a space for others to do the same.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In which I get inspired …

  1. Powerful stuff – well written & emotive. I hope the film of your own song takes a better turn soon.

  2. Andrew says:

    Good poem; shame the Poet Laureate post won’t be free for some time!

Leave a Reply

