In which I get to grips with my exit questionnaire …

I posted a little while ago on the trials of being in HR during all this change and times of ‘difficult decisions’. (Have you ever noticed that when a politician or business leader uses the phrase ‘difficult decision’ it usually means someone else is going to lose their job?) But I couldn’t resist sharing the first three questions on my exit questionnaire.

I am asked to rank my satisfaction from ‘very satisfied’ through to ‘very disatisfied’ on a five point scale in the following areas.

  • the organisation’s overall performance as an employer;
  • job security; and,
  • career development.

Now, I may well be missing the point here somewhere but I am not sure my current employers – who are after all making me redundant – really want my views on their performance in these areas.

To really do justice to the sophistication of my responses there would have to be a different five point scale. Something like:

  • outside, now!
  • who’s asking?
  • don’t give a toss;
  • all right I suppose (right up to the minute you sent me a redundancy notice); or,
  • your leadership is as wise as it is visionary (please give me my job back).

But it takes some courage to ask these sorts of questions at the moment and perhaps there’s a purpose here that I am not seeing.

Wonder what it is?

About redundantpublicservant

A redundant UK public servant looking for work, sharing his experiences and providing a space for others to do the same.
This entry was posted in HR departments, Redundancy, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In which I get to grips with my exit questionnaire …

  1. localgov says:

    And what are they actually going to do with the responses which come back negatively?! Surely a more useless and skewed questionnaire has yet to be invented!

Leave a Reply

